What Inspired Me to Write Masquerade of Lies

I started writing shortly after I had our second daughter in 2009. I graduated from the Early Childhood Education program and have taught children from birth to six years of age. I have read a lot of children’s books, so I decided to write the Frizzy Tizzy children’s book series. I had a lot of fun writing those books and realized how much I enjoyed it, but I wanted to write a different genre. One of my favourite shows growing up was Degrassi Junior High. It was a teen drama series about a group of students faced with real difficult challenges. The majority of the television shows and movies that I watch are centred on young adult, so I really wanted to write a book in that genre. Teenagers have to deal with common problems such as drugs, drinking and peer pressure. Bullying/cyberbullying has become a huge problem and victims of this are more likely to commit suicide. There are so many young adult books out there about vampires and werewolves, which is great, but I wanted to write something different. Don’t get it twisted, as I really enjoy watching shows like True Blood, Vampire Diaries, The Originals and I loved The Twilight Saga. I wanted to write a young adult novel about regular people tackling real common issues. I enjoy reading young adult novels because I find them entertaining. They make me feel nostalgic remembering my young adult days.

Masquerade of Lies is about a 17 year old girl named Hanna Clark who moves away with her mother to Willowdale, California to start her life over. Her life gets turned upside down when she becomes a suspect in a murder investigation. While on a mission to prove her innocence, she becomes friends with the most popular girl in school, Claire Miller, and falls for her boyfriend, Josh Banks. Suddenly, things fall into place and Hanna learns that nothing is ever what it seems.

I was a teenager once and I know how difficult it could be sometimes. How easy it is to be misunderstood. Most of the time teenagers just want to be accepted for who they are and not be judged. Teenagers make friends and lose friends. They talk sh*t behind each other’s back and call them out on their crap. They might try drugs, get drunk and experience a horrible hangover. They’ll cry alone in their room and take selfies. They’re teenagers and I can’t wait to write all about their challenges in my future books.

 

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

